Armed Forces Tribunal - Aug, 2009

                Armed Forces Tribunal Inaugurated

   Ø  The Armed Forces Tribunal was inaugurated by the President of India, Pratibha Patil on August 8, 2009.
   Ø  It has come into being 27 years after the Supreme Court has observed the lacuna.
   Ø  Law Minister M.Veerappa Moily described the AFT as the magna carta of Indian military history.
   Ø  The decisions of the AFT can only be challenged in the Supreme Court.
   Ø  Chairperson of the AFT is A.K.Mathur (former Supreme Court Judge).
   Ø  AFT will have 29 members.
   Ø  A total of 15 courts will be set up –
·         3 in New Delhi
·         3 in Chandigarh
·         3 in Lucknow
·         1 in Calcutta
·         1 in Guwahati
·         1 in Mumbai
·         1 in Kochi
·         1 in Chennai
·         1 in Jaipur

    Points to Remember:
        *      Union Law Minister – M.Veerappa Moily
        *      Chairperson of AFT – A.K.Mathur




Related Posts with Thumbnails
toolbar powered by Conduit